Wednesday, 17 September 2008

Review - Michael Jackson - King Of Pop

Michael Jackson - King Of Pop

View The Review

8 out of 10

Yes, it's another Michael Jackson "best of" album, and this time, the catch is that this track listing was compiled by the UK fans through online voting, who could choose tracks from a list of "50 of the most popular hits, as well as a few rare releases". Upon reading this, I expected this CD to be the cream of the crop - the absolute best songs that Jackson ever released, and it doesn't disappoint. "Billie Jean" opens the album in superb fashion, and reminds us exactly why Michael Jackson's career has spanned 5 decades. "Smooth Criminal" is equally as reminiscent and "Thriller" has me dancing in my chair at this very moment. The "Off The Wall" classics "Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough" and "Rock With You" really do hammer home the point that Michael Jackson truly is the King of Pop - some of these songs are almost 30 years old, and yet they still have the ability to make me (And everyone else in my house/car/office) sing and dance along with more enthusiasm than any other artist around today.

Although the track listing is missing some of my personal favourites, the diversity and sheer musical genius shown on this album highlights the reason why an artist like Michael Jackson can release yet another "best-of" album and be excused for it. Every track on this album is still relevant in music today, despite two of these tracks being released for the first time in 1979.

An excellent compilation of some of the most exceptional songs ever released - a well worthy purchase.


1. Billie Jean
2. Bad
3. Smooth Criminal
4. Thriller
5. Black or White
6. Beat It
7. Wanna be Startin' Somethin'
8. Don't Stop 'Til You Get Enough
9. The Way You Make Me Feel
10. Rock with You
11. You Are Not Alone
12. Man in the Mirror
13. Remember the Time
14. Scream (with Janet Jackson)
15. You Rock My World
16. They Don't Care About Us
17. Earth Song

No comments: