Monday, 8 December 2008

Review - The Shortwave Set - Glitches n' Bugs (Single)

The Shortwave Set - Glitches n' Bugs (Single)

View The Review

7 out of 10

With the recent surge of US bands and their psychedelic indie-pop anthems that are busying the present music scene, it's reassuring that the UK have our own examples like this London trio, to add to the contest.

Two albums and half a dozen singles on, The Shortwave Set are less present on the scene than their colourful contemporaries (step forth, MGMT, Chairlift, Iglu and Hartly.etc) who've received deserved but heavy-handed pushes from the music press- however the emergence of Glitches n' Bugs could change that.

This song is modest and subtly infectious, with vocals from Andrew Pettit and Ulrika Bjorsne providing the sheen to its electro-funk shimmer. It's an unobtrusive grower by all accounts as it blossoms with each play.

The three-piece even lend their laid-back treatment to 'label mate' Grace Jones', making light of her 80s hit, Slave To The Rhythm with an uplifting and flouncing makeover.

The contest is now on.


1. Glitches n' Bugs
2. Glitches n' Bugs (Marshmellow Mike Remix)
3. Glitches n' Bugs (Mongolian Jet Set Remix)
4. Homesick
5. Slave To The Rhythm

No comments: