Sunday, 21 December 2008

Review - The Eyes Of A Traitor - A Clear Perception

The Eyes Of A Traitor - A Clear Perception

View The Review

9 out of 10

Hertfordshire lads TEOAT are going to knock some people square on the backsides with this their first full length proper. A Clear Perception is the next release by the band is an extremely logical progression from their By Sunset EP that was released on TDON Records back in 2007. Numerous tours under their belts with a wide variety of different sounding bands from the metal genre have most definitely had a noticeable influence on their song writing. Opener Under Siege kicks things off with a polyrhythmic chug that brings memories of early Messhugah flooding back. Frontman Jack has now got a full grip of his vocals and utilises them adeptly throughout the album with urgency and clarity.

Compared to the EP, the guitar work has been given an injection of jaw drop syndrome which will keep you filled with booster shots all the way through the record, the tracks With Different Eyes and Echoes showcasing just how good these kids are with their respective instruments. Fans of Swedish metal, off timed chuggy breakdowns and beautifully epic melodies will no doubt find this record to be in their top ten of 2009 for sure. UK metal seems to be going from strength to strength at the moment and The Eyes Of A Traitor currently stand shoulder to shoulder with Architects as the leading lights. The only difference being that TEOAT is a good 5 years younger and this album is a whole lot better than Architects debut.


1. Under Siege
2. Like Clockwork
3. With Different Eyes
4. Escape These Walls
5. Decorus
6. Misconceptions
7. Echoes
8. Hands of Time
9. The Impact of Two Hearts
10. A Clear Perception

No comments: