Monday, 22 December 2008

Review - Grand Duchy - Petits Fours

Grand Duchy - Petits Fours

View The Review

8 out of 10

Grand Duchy is made up of Violet Clark and Black Francis. The collaboration came about after a day in the studio provided them with some promising ideas, which were then built on.

The album is full of driving bass lines, soft synths, lead synths, rough and ready guitars and distinctive vocals. Highlights on the album include opener 'Come On Over To My House', which incorporates pounding drums and guitars, and sounds something like The White Stripes mixing up some classic 80s electro and delta blues, 'Fort Wayne' which is the first song the duo came up with on their adventure, and the guitar drenched 'The Long Song' which squeals with feedback!

Mixing rock, garage, blues and electro in to a winning combination, Grand Duchy should have something for everyone on their great debut album 'Petits Fours'.


1. Come On Over To My House
2. Lovesick
3. Fort Wayne
4. Seeing Stars
5. Black Suit
6. The Long Song
7. Break The Angels
8. Ermesinde
9. Volcano!

No comments: