Sunday, 25 January 2009

Review - Dog Almighty - Dog Almighty

Dog Almighty - Dog Almighty

View The Review

8 out of 10

I liked this album purely because it came with a free rubber band - true.

Stuck somewhere between Muse and HIM, Dog Almighty have an epic sound characterised by soaring vocals and grinding riffage, Their sound is their own and in all truth, it's actually quite difficult to draw comparisons with other bands. it could well be that Dog Almighty is the best thing to come out of Scandinavia since Ulrika Johnson.

Standout tracks include album opener 'It Doesn't Hurt', which is the musical equivalent of smacking your face into a wall as an introduction to the band. And I like it.

Apparently the promo cover I have in my grubby paws is a limited edition - part of a run of 1000 hand made by the band themselves, so you'll have to wait for the normal, boring plastic ones to come out in March. But damn it, it'll be worth the wait. Get over it.


1. It Doesn't Hurt
2. Sinner
3. Already There
4. Break
5. The Way
6. Hear Me Out
7. Perfect Lie
8. Let It Go
9. Sin
10. Choke On This
11. Drunk With Fear
12. Bitter To The Teeth

No comments: