Saturday, 21 March 2009

Review - Yeah Yeah Yeahs - It's Blitz

Yeah Yeah Yeahs - It's Blitz

View The Review

6 out of 10

Usually it's the second album bands find 'difficult'. In the case of NYC's finest art-punks the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, however, it's the third. Kicking off with four tracks which owe more to S&M discos, Sparks and the roll of the fife than anything else, anyone expecting another Date With The Night or Maps will be scratching their £350 haircuts in disappointment. We have a big club sound and the requisite arch hedonism ('off with your head / dance 'til you're dead' chants Karen O during Heads Will Roll) but nothing to make one sit up and take notice, until Dull Life slides in. With an intro which should really make Lily Allen give up all musical pretensions and go back to buying shoes for a living and a guitar riff to make Lux Interior dance in his grave, we are suddenly reminded of why this band matter.

Unfortunately, the same feelings only surface again during Little Shadow - the Maps of this particular album and truly a case of saving the best 'til last. As for the rest, well, it's as I said at the outset - difficult. The band seems to be dissecting disco or reanimating its corpse, I'm not sure which. For many other acts this would translate as 'crap' but this is the Yeah Yeah Yeahs we're talking about. Their 'difficult' still laughs in the faces of everyone else.


1. Zero
2. Heads Will Roll
3. Soft Shock
4. Skeletons
5. Dull Life
6. Shame And Fortune
7. Runaway
8. Dragon Queen
9. Hysteric
10. Little Shadow

No comments: