Monday, 30 March 2009

Review - ...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead - The Century of Self

...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead - The Century of Self

View The Review

10 out of 10

"The Century of Self" is album number 6 from Texas prog-rockers ...And You Will Know Us From The Trail of Dead, and a triumphant return from the ashes of a break from their former record label.

This sixth record has been dubbed as their true return to form as a result of their newly found artistic freedom, and what a return to form it is. It's a prog masterpiece without the pretention, or the boredom that the word "prog" is so commonly associated with. Every individual track on this album is excellent, and perfectly executed. The somewhat industrial sounds which crept in on the 2006 effort "So Divided" have disappeared, and are replaced by sing-along hooks, soaring riffs and ruthless choruses that are just a joy to listen to.

It's really difficult to put into words how good this album is; I've battled with writing this review simply because I can't find the words to describe it. The sheer ambition and the musical tale that is told in "Isis Unveiled" is simply a delight to behold, and the sincerity behind "Pictures of an Only Child" is just bloody marvellous.

All I can say here is that this is truly a wonderful album. It's taken me a while to come to this conclusion, but it's the only real conclusion I can make. Miss this album at your peril.


1. Giants Causeway
2. Far Pavillions
3. Isis Unveiled
4. Halcyon Days
5. Bells of Creation
6. Fields of Coal
7. Inland Sea
8. Luna Park
9. Pictures of an Only Child
10. Insatiable One
11. Ascending
12. An August Theme
13. Insatiable Two

No comments: