Sunday, 26 April 2009

Review - Homecut - No Freedom Without Sacrifice

Homecut - No Freedom Without Sacrifice

View The Review

7 out of 10

Despite a rather shaky start (track one is really just an intro, and the second track I REALLY don't like) this has actually turned out to be a pretty decent album. The production is nicely funky and indeed summery, and actually reminds me of Stevie Wonder in places which has to be good thing, right? Homecut's lyrical style actually makes a nice change from the aggressive rapping favoured by a lot of underground UK MCs. The whole album takes a much more laid back approach, with more of a good time party vibe than the battle style raps that are perhaps more prevalent.

This wouldn't sound at all out of place throbbing from the speakers of a dope low rider, but would be equally at home in the background of a lazy summer barbeque. If you like De La Soul, A Tribe Called Quest and Jurassic 5 then you'll probably find lots to enjoy here.


1. No Freedom Without Sacrifice
2. Participant
3. Don't Even Know featuring Corinne Bailey Rae & Soweto Kinch
4. Innovators (Nostalgically Speaking)
5. City Song
6. Not Far to Go
7. Ecclesiastes 3:11
8. Time Difference featuring J-Live
9. YKTE featuring Lee Sun
10. Night at the Fair
11. Bring it all Together
12. Harmony
13. Breakdown featuring Andreya Triana
14. All for Now

No comments: