Monday, 6 July 2009

Review - Death By Stereo - Death Is My Only Friend

Death By Stereo - Death Is My Only Friend

View The Review

8 out of 10

After what seems like forever, Orange County's Death By Stereo have returned with a vengeance. Innovators of punk and hardcore-tinged metal, Death By Stereo have notched up a steady back catalogue, newest release Death Is My Only Friend is certainly no different. Newly signed to System Of A Down frontman Serj Tankian's label Serjical Strike, the latest album kicks into top gear with Opening Destruction. Frontman Efrem Schulz's disctint Danzig-esque vocals power through. One thing that is constant with Death By Stereo is their ability to discuss dark topics in their songwriting that very few bands can do. The album tackles the topic of death in such detail. They're heavy but retain a great sense of melody especially in The Last Song which soars to hell and back. Death By Stereo still maintain their hardcore sensibilties of the OC compatriots whilst injecting metal riffage and not neglecting epic sing-a-long choruses. Forever And A Day sees Death By Stereo at their most mellow and eerie in dare I say a power ballad but it sends chills down the spine with Schulz's crooning against piano and orchestration. Death Is My Only Friend is a masterclass in metalcore to extent that this can translate over to fans of Pennywise to In Flames.

With musical trends that come and go its bands like Death By Stereo are constantly producing solid records with their own unique sound whilst other bands have disappeared. A solid hardcore album from the OC scene veterans.


1. Opening Destruction
2. The Ballad Of Sid Dynamite
3. I Sing For You
4. The Last Song
5. Bread For The Dead
6. Dead To Me
7. Forever And A Day
8. Wake The Dead
9. I Got Your Back
10. Who Should Die? You Should Die
11. We Sing Today For A Better Tomorrow
12. D.B.S.F.U
13. Welcome To Party
14. Fear Of A Brown Planet
15. For All My Friends (The Unity Song)

No comments: